Skip to main content

Marymede CRC: Library Home

Search the CRC catalogue from school

Databases

ATARNotes VCE Video Tutorials

These revision tutorials provide study tips for various subjects and also topic revision. Subjects include General Advice, Biology, Business Management, Chemistry, English, English Language, Further Maths, Legal Studies, Maths Methods, Physics, Psychology,  Specialists Maths, Technical (VCAT) and UMAT. Keep checking for new subjects..

Search the CRC catalogue from home

To search the Marymede Resource Centre catalogue rom home, please log on to Simon and use the link under the  Student (from Home) or Staff (from Home) menus on the left hand side of the screen.

Library Workout

Press Reader

 

 

PressReader  provides online access to a wide variety of magazines and newspapers from around the world. The Marymede subscription allows you to read online or download the magazines. Titles are listed by categories, country of origin and language and are available to staff and secondary students for school work and leisure reading.

Follow the link to the PressReader site and choose to log in using the Library and Group option. Select Marymede Catholic College as the Library. Enter your computer user name in the Library Card Number field and your computer password in the PIN field.

You can also use this subscription on IOS or Android devices by downloading the PressReader App from the appropriate App Store and using the same log in details.

The Age replica provides students and staff with access to The Age newspaper replica of the printed newspaper, online while on campus at Marymede Catholic College. The archive commences in January 2017 through to the latest daily edition. If you use this link from home it will take you to The Age's public web site.

The Age replica newspaper

Loading ...

Issues In Society

Issues in Society provide select a range of topical issues which are currently under discussion in society and provide an overview, background information and research on these issues. They are a great resource for studying issues in the media, debating and ethical issues which arise in many subject areas. The latest Issues in Society books are added as they become available. These are password protected, please see signs in Resource Centre or contact Resource Centre staff.Print copies are available for loan from the Resource Centre, search the catalogue for availability.

* Some titles may be useful background reading for VCE English but check criteria for studies which require your sources to be from Australian media within the last 6 months.

Referencing

Your work must be correctly referenced to demonstrate that you have completed sufficient detailed research using authoritative sources and attributing facts and ideas you have gathered to their original authors. If you have used electronic resources such as databases, many of these have a link or icon to "cite" the work. Microsoft Word has a "References" tab which allows you to add sources. There are also web sites which will "autocite" resources. Ensure that you choose the APA style of citations requested by your teacher and check that any auto citing site have detected all the relevant bibliographic details. You may need to enter some of these manually. Take the time to cite each source as you use it and learn how to use referencing tools; this will save time throughout your studies. Further information is available on pages 16-17  of the School Diary.


CiteMaker

Marymede now has a subscription to CiteMaker which is an online referencing tool that will format your citations to the APA style and allows you to save bibliographies as works in progress. It will also generate in-text citations for you to insert into your work. The final bibliography can then be downloaded to be incorporated in your submitted school work. The first time that you use CiteMarker, you must register, creating a username and password. Remember to  look for extra citation information not collected by the "auto-cite" and add this information manually.

Marymede CiteMaker